How To Lock Your Google Chrome Profile With A Password

In the past, I often use Mozilla Firefox because it can create multiple browser profiles for different purposes. For example, I can create two separate profiles, one for surfing the Internet to read the latest news, and the other to do my work.

Gradually, Google Chrome has caught up on the trend so that you can create multiple profiles as well. However, unlike the Firefox browser, all Chrome profiles are always visible to all users. That said, all people who can access your computer can view your bookmarks or history.

With Mozilla Firefox browser, you can choose to hide those profiles wisely by not enabling the Profile Manager publicly. Instead, if you want to open, press Windows + R, type: firefox.exe -p and hit the Enter key.

Enable multiple Mozilla Firefox profiles

So, is there any safe way to use multiple Google Chrome profiles?

Also Read: Fix Your Connection Is Not Private Error In Google Chrome.

How To Lock Your Google Chrome Profile With A Password

How to lock your Google Chrome profile with password

Well! You may not know that you can enable a password for Google Chrome profiles. This password will be your Google account password.

To enable this type of password, you will need to add a new user to your Chrome browser as a supervised user.

To do so, you have to first enable a new Profile Management. You just need to copy the following code and paste on the address bar of your Chrome browser and then hit Enter.

chrome://flags/#enable-new-profile-management

In the next step, select the “Enabled” option from the drop-down list, and then click on the “Relaunch Now” button.

Google Chrome: New profile management system

Once your Google Chrome browser has reopened, go to Settings and add click on the “Add person…” button from the People section.

Add Person in Google Chrome

In the next step, choose the name of the new person.

Besides, you also need to check the “Control and view the websites this person visits from your-gmail-email@gmail.com” box.

Add supervised user in Google Chrome

Then, click on the “Add” button.

Your Chrome browser will display a message to tell you that a new user has been added and it’s now a supervised user. You can visit www.chrome.com/manage to manage the settings of this supervised user.

Google Chrome: Supervised User

Don’t worry about it. That’s just a notice. Simply click on the “OK, got it” button to exit.

You will see a new supervised account that you have recently created in the People list.

People List in Google Chrome

Now, you will be able to lock any Google Chrome profile you want. Simply click on the profile name and choose the “Exit and childlock” option. By that, you will close and lock your Chrome profile. Note that this is the only way to lock a particular Chrome profile. If you close your Chrome browser without clicking on that option, it won’t be locked.

Exit and childlock in Google Chrome

The next time you open your Google Chrome, it will ask you the password to unlock the profile you have locked before. However, you can open all other unlocked profiles as usual, without needing to provide the password.